From the Old and New Worlds

The last Mainstage concert of the season begins with the Tobias Picker’s pastoral Old and Lost Rivers. Tchaikovsky’s symphonic poem inspired by the Shakespearean tragedy Romeo and Juliet and the PSO Concerto Competition winner fill out the first half. Our season concludes with Dvorak’s New World Symphony, a piece inspired by the wide open spaces in America the composer encountered during his time here, ending the season in awe and wonder!

Picker Old and Lost Rivers
Tchaikovsky Romeo and Juliet Overture-fantasy
Concerto Competition Winner
Dvorak Symphony No. 9 (New World Symphony)

All concerts begin at 3:00 pm and are preceded at 1:45 pm by Inside the Music, a free pre-concert discussion that provides entertaining insight into the afternoon’s program.

*For your ease and convenience, this year’s PSO concerts will have reserved seating.